RSS

Inaugural Day, 2013.

21 Jan

I can’t add much to anything I’ve been saying over the years, because I keep saying it and saying it and it gets repetitious, so I’ll let a few others add their thoughts.

First, Peter Van Buren on today’s inaugural:  http://wemeantwell.com/blog/2013/01/21/inauguration-day-for-mr-lincoln-dr-king-and-barack/

Kitt, in a comment on a previous article:  “Obama set back hope to what feels like possibly the end of time.”

Paul Simon in 1975.  We have not learned – not one damn thing have we learned since then.

AMERICAN TUNE
(words by Paul Simon, music by JS Bach)

Many’s the time I’ve been mistaken,
and many times confused.
Yes, and I’ve often felt forsaken,
and certainly misused.
Ah, but I’m all right, I’m all right,
I’m just weary to my bones.
Still, you don’t expect to be bright and bon vivant
so far away from home,
so far away from home.

And I don’t know a soul who’s not been battered.
I don’t have a friend who feels at ease.
I don’t know a dream that’s not been shattered,
or driven to its knees.
Ah, but it’s all right, it’s all right,
for we’ve lived so well so long.
Still, when I think of the road we’re traveling on,
I wonder what’s gone wrong.
I can’t help but wonder what’s gone wrong.

And I dreamed I was dying.
I dreamed that my soul rose unexpectedly,
and looking back down at me, smiled reassuringly.
And I dreamed I was flying.
And high up above, my eyes could clearly see
the Statue of Liberty, sailing away to sea.
And I dreamed I was flying.

Well, we come on the ship they call the Mayflower,
we come on the ship that sailed the moon.
We come in the age’s most uncertain hours
and sing an American tune.
Oh, it’s all right, it’s all right, it’s all right.
You can’t be forever blessed.
Still, tomorrow’s gonna be another working day
and I’m trying to get some rest.
That’s all, I’m trying to get some rest.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 21, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Inaugural Day, 2013.

  1. Peggy Gibbs

    January 21, 2013 at 4:37 pm

    Teri! Is that you? For some reason, it popped unbidden into my mind to look you up today, and I find this blog. I’d like to think these thoughts are yours!

    Peggy

    Like

     
    • Teri

      January 21, 2013 at 4:45 pm

      Well, I’ll be damned. Peggy. Yes, ’tis I.

      I’ll send you an email in the morning, Peggy, if that’s okay, and we can catch up. My gosh, it has been decades! (Only feels like centuries.)

      Fondly,
      Teri

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
